[Skip to Content]
[Skip to Content Landing]
Views 185
Citations 0
Medical News & Perspectives
October 17, 2012

2012 Lasker Awards Laud Seminal Work in Transplantation, Molecular Motors

JAMA. 2012;308(15):1512-1514. doi:10.1001/jama.2012.13119

Seven scientists, including 2 surgeons whose clinical research led to better outcomes after liver transplantation, a trio of researchers whose basic research revealed the workings of cellular motor proteins, and 2 pioneering geneticists recognized for their leadership within the biomedical research community, have been named as the recipients of the 2012 Lasker Awards.

Among the most respected prizes in science, the Lasker Awards recognize physicians, scientists, and others whose contributions have made possible major advances in biomedicine. First presented in 1946, they are often referred to as “America's Nobels” because so many recipients go on to receive the Nobel Prize.

First Page Preview View Large
First page PDF preview
First page PDF preview