[Skip to Content]
Access to paid content on this site is currently suspended due to excessive activity being detected from your IP address Please contact the publisher to request reinstatement.
[Skip to Content Landing]
Views 177
Citations 0
Capitol Health Call
December 12, 2012

Physicians in Congress

JAMA. 2012;308(22):2327. doi:10.1001/jama.2012.111327

When the 113th Congress convenes in January, it will have 3 physician senators and at least 15 physician representatives following the November 6 elections.

Sen John Barrasso, MD (R, Wyo), won reelection and will resume working with Sen Tom Coburn, MD (R, Okla), and Sen Rand Paul, MD (R, Ky). In Arizona, Democrat Richard Carmona, MD, the former US Surgeon General, lost his Senate bid.

In the House, 2 Democrat newcomers, Raul Ruiz, MD, and Ami Bera, MD, both of California, will join 13 physician incumbents who were reelected: Rep Dan Benishek, MD (R, Mich); Rep Paul Broun, MD (R, Ga); Rep Larry Bucshon, MD (R, Ind); Rep Michael Burgess, MD (R, Tex); Rep Bill Cassidy, MD (R, La); Rep Scott DesJarlais, MD (R, Tenn); Rep John Fleming, MD (R, La); Rep Phil Gingrey, MD (R, Ga); Rep Andy Harris, MD (R, Md); Rep Joe Heck, DO (R, Nev); Rep Jim McDermott, MD (D, Wash); Rep Tom Price, MD (R, Ga); and Rep David “Phil” Rose, MD (R, Tenn). Rep Nan Hayworth, MD (R, NY), lost her reelection bid, and Rep Ron Paul, MD (R, Tex), did not seek reelection.

First Page Preview View Large
First page PDF preview
First page PDF preview