[Skip to Content]
[Skip to Content Landing]
January 10, 1920


JAMA. 1920;74(2):118-119. doi:10.1001/jama.1920.02620020050027

This article is only available in the PDF format. Download the PDF to view the article, as well as its associated figures and tables.


Dec. 17, 1919.

A Higher Qualification in Ophthalmology  The Council of British Ophthalmologists has issued a report on examinations in ophthalmology. At present there are examinations of two classes: (1) that in which opththalmology forms part of a higher examination in medicine and surgery, as for the M.D. or M.S. of the University of London, and (2) that in which qualified physicians are examined independently of any examination in general medicine and surgery, as, the diploma in ophthalmology of the University of Oxford. The first examination in ophthalmology as a special subject was established by the Royal College of Surgeons of Edinburgh in 1883. In the examination for the fellowship, ophthalmology is compulsory. At the University of London, ophthalmology has recently been recognized as a special branch of the M.S degree, the candidate having had to spend at least two years in the study and practice of ophthalmology at an

First Page Preview View Large
First page PDF preview
First page PDF preview