[Skip to Content]
Access to paid content on this site is currently suspended due to excessive activity being detected from your IP address Please contact the publisher to request reinstatement.
[Skip to Content Landing]
April 29, 1933

Die Einteilung des Nervensystems nach seinen Leistungen.

JAMA. 1933;100(17):1364. doi:10.1001/jama.1933.02740170062037

This article is only available in the PDF format. Download the PDF to view the article, as well as its associated figures and tables.


An attempt at a functional analysis of the brain is made in this brief monograph. Müller recognizes three principal subdivisions of the nervous system: (1) systema nervosum pro mundo, the division that receives stimuli from and reacts on the environment; (2) Systema nervosum myostaticum, receiving impulses from the vestibular labyrinth and from the muscle joints and tendons and sending impulses to the muscles for the maintenance of equilibrium, posture and tonus; (3) Systema nervosum vitale, concerned with the afferent and efferent innervation of the viscera, blood vessels, glands and the smooth muscle of the hair follicles. On the afferent side these divisions include, respectively, Sherrington's exteroceptive, proprioceptive and interoceptive sensory fibers and their nuclei of reception. On the efferent side, Müller's divisions 1 and 2 include the somatic motor elements, and division 3 the visceral efferent elements. An adequate discussion of the relation of the higher centers in the brain

First Page Preview View Large
First page PDF preview
First page PDF preview