[Skip to Content]
Access to paid content on this site is currently suspended due to excessive activity being detected from your IP address Please contact the publisher to request reinstatement.
[Skip to Content Landing]
Views 430
Citations 0
Comment & Response
September 1, 2015

Maintenance of Certification and the Interstate Medical Licensure Compact

Author Affiliations
  • 1Alabama Medical Licensure Commission, Lineville
JAMA. 2015;314(9):951-952. doi:10.1001/jama.2015.8906

To the Editor Drs Teirstein and Topol1 suggested that the Interstate Medical Licensure Compact being enacted by states requires physician participation in maintenance of certification (MOC). This is not the case.

The Compact includes 9 eligibility requirements, such as successful completion of graduate medical education approved by the Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education or the American Osteopathic Association, specialty certification or a time-unlimited specialty certificate recognized by the American Board of Medical Specialties or the American Osteopathic Association’s Bureau of Osteopathic Specialists, no conviction for any offense, and no disciplinary action by a medical licensing agency in any state, federal, or foreign jurisdiction.2

First Page Preview View Large
First page PDF preview
First page PDF preview