[Skip to Content]
[Skip to Content Landing]
September 13, 1952


Author Affiliations


From the Cleveland Clinic and the Frank E. Bunts Educational Institute.

JAMA. 1952;150(2):96-98. doi:10.1001/jama.1952.63680020005007c

Four varieties of amyloidosis are recognized. 1. The commonest is the secondary type associated with chronic infectious and tissue-destructive diseases. It shows a predilection for parenchymatous tissue such as the spleen, kidney, and liver, which demonstrate specific tinctorial reactions to Congo red, methylrosaniline chloride (methyl violet, gentian violet), and iodine. 2. The primary type, which tends to involve mesenchymal tissue such as the muscle of the tongue and the heart and demonstrates a variable staining reaction to the methods employed in the secondary form. 3. The amyloid type, associated with multiple myeloma, having the tinctorial and distributional characteristics of the primary type 4. The type in which solitary amyloid deposits occur without known predisposing cause and have a staining reaction similar to the secondary form. These solitary amyloid deposits are most frequently seen in the larynx and tissues of the upper respiratory tract, although reports have been made of their

First Page Preview View Large
First page PDF preview
First page PDF preview