[Skip to Content]
[Skip to Content Landing]
June 26, 1972

The Advisory Committee on Medical Science

JAMA. 1972;220(13):1737. doi:10.1001/jama.1972.03200130065015

This article is only available in the PDF format. Download the PDF to view the article, as well as its associated figures and tables.


The Advisory Committee on Medical Science to the AMA Board of Trustees serves as a liaison with the scientific and research communities and also advises the Board on the scope and relevance of AMA's many scientific councils and committees.

The Advisory Committee is composed of men of national reputation with diverse backgrounds. Committee membership includes:

Irvine H. Page, MD (Chairman) Editor, Modern MedicineFranz J. Ingelfinger, MD (Vice-chairman) Editor, The New England Journal of MedicinePhilip H. Abelson, PhD Editor, Science President, Carnegie Institution of Washington William G. Anlyan, MD Vice-president for Health Affairs Duke University Medical Center George E. Burch, MD Professor of Medicine, Tulane University S. Richardson Hill, Jr., MD Vice-president for Health Affairs University of Alabama in Birmingham Duncan E. Reid, MD Professor of Obstetrics and Gynecology, Harvard University Walter A. Rosenblith, PhD Provost, Massachusetts Institute of Technology Emmerson Ward, MD Chairman, Board of Governors, Mayo Clinic