[Skip to Content]
[Skip to Content Landing]
September 26, 1986

Continuing Medical Education

Author Affiliations

Dr Osteen is from the American Medical Association (AMA) Office of Physician Credentials and Qualifications, and Mr Gannon is from the AMA Department of Continuing Medical Education.

JAMA. 1986;256(12):1601-1604. doi:10.1001/jama.1986.03380120071009

This article is only available in the PDF format. Download the PDF to view the article, as well as its associated figures and tables.


ACCREDITATION  The Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education (ACCME) completed its first five years of operation at the end of 1985. One of the Council's primary responsibilities is to directly survey and accredit sponsors of continuing medical education (CME) activities designed for a national or multistate audience of physicians. Table 1 presents information on ACCME accreditation activities for the five-year period 1981-1985. The number of applicants for accreditation is given for each of the five years as well as the various kinds of accreditation decisions made by ACCME on these applications.Two-year provisional accreditation is given only to applicants for initial accreditation. At the end of this time, the applicant is resurveyed and is usually given either accreditation or nonaccreditation. In a few instances, the provisional accreditation is extended for another two years. From the data in Table 1, it appears that the ACCME awarded provisional accreditation to fewer applicants