[Skip to Content]
[Skip to Content Landing]
November 15, 1965

Medical Schools

JAMA. 1965;194(7):732-742. doi:10.1001/jama.1965.03090200040014

This article is only available in the PDF format. Download the PDF to view the article, as well as its associated figures and tables.


Approved Medical Schools  There were 88 medical schools in operation in the United States during the 1964-1965 academic year. One of these, the University of New Mexico School of Medicine, is classed as a medical school in development, since it accepted its first class in September, 1964. As a developing two-year school, it does not become eligible for full accreditation until its first class nears the end of the sophomore year.Of the 87 accredited schools, 84 offer the full, fouryear program, whereas three (Dartmouth, North Dakota, and South Dakota) are two-year schools of the basic medical sciences. Some basic data on class enrollments and other matters are given in Table 5.During the past academic year, the regular survey and accreditation procedures of the Liaison Committee on Medical Education were carried on as usual. This is a joint function of the AMA Council on Medical Education and the Executive

First Page Preview View Large
First page PDF preview
First page PDF preview