[Skip to Content]
Access to paid content on this site is currently suspended due to excessive activity being detected from your IP address Please contact the publisher to request reinstatement.
[Skip to Content Landing]
October 12, 1963


JAMA. 1963;186(2):23-36. doi:10.1001/jama.1963.03710020003002

This article is only available in the PDF format. Download the PDF to view the article, as well as its associated figures and tables.


Lasker Foundation Names 1963 Scientific Award Winners  Lyman C. Craig, PhD, Michael E. DeBakey, MD, and Charles Huggins, MD have been named recipients of the 1963 Albert Lasker Medical Research Awards, presented by the Albert and Mary Lasker Foundation of New York City.The three investigators will receive an honorarium of $10,000 each, a citation, and a gold statuette of the Winged Victory of Samothrace during award ceremonies Oct 30 at the New York Academy of Medicine at 8:30 pm.Following is a summary of the citations prepared by the jury which selected the award winners:Lyman C. Craig, PhD, professor and member of the Rockefeller Institute in New York City, developed the countercurrent distribution technique for separation of biologically and clinically significant compounds. In addition, he contributed to isolation and structural studies of numerous compounds, particularly antibiotics.The ideas that led Craig to the development of countercurrent distribution

First Page Preview View Large
First page PDF preview
First page PDF preview