[Skip to Content]
Access to paid content on this site is currently suspended due to excessive activity being detected from your IP address Please contact the publisher to request reinstatement.
[Skip to Content Landing]
Special Millennium Article
January 2000

CommunicationThe Road to Cooperation

Arch Dermatol. 2000;136(1):52. doi:10.1001/archderm.136.1.52

Effective linguistic communication is of paramount importance to humans. Language unites people and makes them feel solidarity with people who speak the same language. Religion and culture, as well as language, are part of the distinctiveness of inhabitants of a particular place. In northern Europe are 5 Nordic countries: Denmark, Finland, Iceland, Norway, and Sweden. Throughout the world, the Nordic countries are often regarded as an entity. The reason for this is their particular geographic localization. Nevertheless, despite their proximity to one another, they are 5 different countries with 5 different languages. All these languages, except Finnish, are of Germanic root and originate from the Indo-European family of languages. The Finnish language, however, belongs to the Finno-Ugric family of languages. The Norwegian, Swedish, and Danish people are able to understand each other when they speak their native languages. Finnish and Icelandic people, however, cannot be understood by other Nordic inhabitants.

First Page Preview View Large
First page PDF preview
First page PDF preview