[Skip to Content]
Access to paid content on this site is currently suspended due to excessive activity being detected from your IP address Please contact the publisher to request reinstatement.
[Skip to Content Landing]
April 1975

Meeting Review

Author Affiliations

American Society of Photobiology President: John Spikes President Elect: Jack Myers Past President: Kendric Smith E. W. Abrahamson: Secretary-Treasurer

Arch Dermatol. 1975;111(4):536-537. doi:10.1001/archderm.1975.01630160126029

This article is only available in the PDF format. Download the PDF to view the article, as well as its associated figures and tables.


The second annual meeting of the American Society for Photobiology was held at the University of British Columbia, Vancouver, July 22 to 26, 1974.

Dermatologists like to claim the Nobel Prize winner, Neils Finsen as a representative of dermatology. He received a Nobel Prize in 1903 for his useof ultraviolet radiation in the cure of lupus vulgaris. Whether clinical dermatology can claim Finsen as its own or not, he was a physician who treated skin disease and received the Nobel Prize. Moreover, he developed many methods and built many apparatus that were of importance in general photobiology. He is recognized as a pioneer not only in clinical medicine but in the multidisciplined field of photobiology.

At the International Congresses on Photobiology, a Finsen Memorial Medal is awarded to workers in any field of photobiology who have made a notable contribution. The next, 7th International Congress on Photobiology will be held in Rome, Italy from Aug 30 to Sept 2, 1976

First Page Preview View Large
First page PDF preview
First page PDF preview