THE SALE of tobacco products to persons aged less than 18 years has been prohibited by law in Texas since September 1989.* This law requires cigarette vending machine owners to post signs on their machines stating the illegality of tobacco product sales to persons aged less than 18 years and that merchants convicted for selling tobacco products to underaged persons be fined a maximum of $500. In August 1991, Arlington, Texas, enacted legislation requiring installation of electronic locking devices on all cigarette vending machines. These devices render the vending machine inoperable until the store owner electronically unlocks the machine on customer request. To assess minors' access to cigarettes through vending machines, in October 1993 the Texas Department of Health conducted a study in Arlington and five neighboring communities. This report summarizes the study findings.
In September 1993, the health department obtained a list of business establishments with cigarette vending machines
Minors' Access to Cigarette Vending Machines—Texas. Arch Dermatol. 1994;130(11):1361-1362. doi:10.1001/archderm.1994.01690110019002