[Skip to Content]
[Skip to Content Landing]
May 1948

News and Notes

Arch Ophthalmol. 1948;39(5):673-675. doi:10.1001/archopht.1948.00900020682013

This article is only available in the PDF format. Download the PDF to view the article, as well as its associated figures and tables.



Third Pan-American Congress of Ophthalmology.  —The Third Pan-American Congress of Ophthalmology was held in Habana, Cuba, Jan. 4 to 10, 1948, inclusive. All who attended felt that the meeting was a great success. Almost 1,400 ophthalmologists were registered, and every country in the Western Hemisphere was represented.The following officers were elected to serve from 1948 to 1952: President, Dr. Conrad Berens; vice presidents, Dr. Esteban Adrogue (Argentina), Dr. Aniceto Solares (Bolivia), Prof. Ivo Correa Meyer (Brazil), Dr. John MacMillan (Canada), Dr. Santiago Barrenechea (Chile), Dr. Francisco Vernaza (Colombia), Dr. Alexis Aguero (Costa Rica), Dr. Miguel Branly (Cuba), Dr. Varas Samaniego (Ecuador), Dr. Miguel Medrano (Guatemala), Drs. Frederick Cordes and William Benedict (United States); secretary for area north of Panama, Dr. Thomas D. Allen; secretary for area south of Panama, Dr. Moacyr E. Alvaro; assistant secretaries for Latin America, Dr. Jorge Balza and Dr. Manoel Silva; assistant secretary

First Page Preview View Large
First page PDF preview
First page PDF preview