[Skip to Content]
Access to paid content on this site is currently suspended due to excessive activity being detected from your IP address 54.158.127.188. Please contact the publisher to request reinstatement.
[Skip to Content Landing]
Article
August 1948

THE HISTORY OF THE DARTMOUTH EYE INSTITUTE

Arch Ophthalmol. 1948;40(2):163-175. doi:10.1001/archopht.1948.00900030168008
Abstract

THE DARTMOUTH Eye Institute, of Hanover, N. H., has closed its doors. A unique institution has passed from the scene of American ophthalmology. It is worth while looking at its history.

The origin of what in 1937 became the Dartmouth Eye Institute dates back to 1919. In that year Adelbert Ames Jr. came to Hanover, N. H., to join with Prof. Charles Proctor, of the department of physics of Dartmouth College, in carrying out research on the optical properties of the human eye.

Ames is neither an ophthalmologist nor a physicist. Trained as a lawyer, he abandoned law to become an artist. Being of an analytic as well as artistic temperament, he soon became interested in the question of the relation of what one sees to what is represented on the canvas. The pursuit of this problem led to the question how the organ of sight reproduces the environment. In

First Page Preview View Large
First page PDF preview
First page PDF preview
×