[Skip to Content]
[Skip to Content Landing]
December 1958

News and Comment

AMA Arch Ophthalmol. 1958;60(6):1151. doi:10.1001/archopht.1958.00940081171022

This article is only available in the PDF format. Download the PDF to view the article, as well as its associated figures and tables.



Scientific Session of Section on Ophthalmology.  —The annual session was held in San Francisco from June 24 to 26, 1958. Approximately 400 persons, a record for attendance on the West Coast, were present throughout the meeting. Prof. Gösta Karpe, of Stockholm, Sweden, was the Guest of Honor of the Section.

The following prizes and honors were awarded: 

  1. The prize medal in ophthalmology was awarded to Peter C. Kronfeld for his many contributions to our specialty.

  2. The $250 prize for the best exhibit was awarded to L. K. Garron, M. J. Hogan, W. K. McEwen, and M. L. Feeney for their exhibit, "Electron Microscopy of Ocular Tissue."

  3. The $250 prize was awarded to Warren A. Wilson for his paper, "Galactosemia with Associated Cataracts in Children," judged on the basis of presentation and originality.

The following officers were elected: Frank B. Walsh, Chairman; Philip M. Lewis, Vice-Chairman;

First Page Preview View Large
First page PDF preview
First page PDF preview