[Skip to Content]
[Skip to Content Landing]
September 1984

Anatomical Classification of the Developmental Glaucomas

Author Affiliations

From the Department of Ophthalmology, University of California School of Medicine, San Francisco.

Arch Ophthalmol. 1984;102(9):1331-1336. doi:10.1001/archopht.1984.01040031081030

• With the use of observations in 250 cases of childhood glaucoma, defects were classified anatomically according to the three major anterior chamber structures affected: the trabecular meshwork, the iris, and the cornea. The classification should do much to facilitate communication in the area of the developmental glaucomas and provide standardization of terminology to allow collaborative study of these rare diseases.