[Skip to Content]
Access to paid content on this site is currently suspended due to excessive activity being detected from your IP address Please contact the publisher to request reinstatement.
[Skip to Content Landing]
October 1997

American Society for Head and Neck Surgery

Author Affiliations

Baltimore, Md

Arch Otolaryngol Head Neck Surg. 1997;123(10):1143. doi:10.1001/archotol.1997.01900100119017

This article is only available in the PDF format. Download the PDF to view the article, as well as its associated figures and tables.


The 39th Annual Meeting of the American Society for Head and Neck Surgery took place May 11-13, 1997, in conjunction with the Combined Otolaryngological Spring Meeting in Scottsdale, Ariz, under the leadership of Nicholas J. Cassisi, MD, president. At the business meeting, 21 new active members were initiated. The society now has 907 members.

Resident scholarship awards were given to Benjamin Light, MD, from the University of Pittsburgh, Pittsburgh, Pa, who presented "Potentiation of Cisplatin Anti-Tumor Activity Through Cell Cycle Alteration Using a Non-Hypercalcemic Vitamin D Analogue in a Murine Squamous Cell Carcinoma Model" and Dwayne Sewell, MD, from Johns Hopkins University, Baltimore, Md, who presented "Safety of In Vivo Adenoviral-Mediated Thymidine Kinase Treatment of Oral Cancer." Two honorable mention awards were also given to Dishram Jalukar, MD, University of Iowa, Iowa City, for "Health States Following Head and Neck Cancer Treatment," and Eben Rosenthal, MD, University of Michigan, Ann Arbor,

First Page Preview View Large
First page PDF preview
First page PDF preview