[Skip to Content]
[Skip to Content Landing]
November 24, 1962


JAMA. 1962;182(8):17-18. doi:10.1001/jama.1962.03050470067027

This article is only available in the PDF format. Download the PDF to view the article, as well as its associated figures and tables.


Doctors in Congress.—  Four physicians will serve in Congress next year, which is three less than in the past Congress. Three present physician-members were reelected and one physician is a new member.Reelected were Reps Durward Hall (R, Mo.), Thomas Morgan (D, Pa.), and Sen Ernest Gruening (D, Alaska). The new physician in Congress is Dr. James D. Weaver, of Erie, Pa., a Republican.Losing out in bids for reelection were Reps Walter Judd (R, Minn.) and Ivor Fenton (R, Pa.). Redistricting played a major role in both defeats.Rep Dale Alford (D, Ark.), gave up his House seat when he unsuccessfully ran for Governor of Arkansas. Rep Edwin Durno (R, Ore.) did the same in an unsuccessful attempt to capture the GOP senatorial nomination in Oregon.Physicians who failed in their first tries for Congress were: Dr. Daniel Beltz of Los Angeles, who challenged veteran Rep James Roosevelt (D)