[Skip to Navigation]
November 21, 2012

Mentoring Translational Science Investigators

Author Affiliations

Author Affiliations: Departments of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences and Family and Community Medicine, Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medicine, Chicago, Illinois (Dr Fleming); Department of Medicine, Division of Pulmonary Sciences and Critical Care Medicine, University of Colorado, Denver (Dr Burnham); and Division of Pediatric Infectious Diseases, Mayo Clinic, Rochester, Minnesota (Dr Huskins).

JAMA. 2012;308(19):1981-1982. doi:10.1001/jama.2012.14367

A primary mission of the National Institutes of Health (NIH) is to train the next generation of clinical/translational scientists. The NIH K-series training grants are 3- to 5-year awards that provide protected time (up to 75% salary support) and research funding (up to $50 000 per year) to new investigators following fellowship training to prepare them for R01-level funding. Examples of K awards include individual awards such as K01s, K08s, K23s, and K25s, along with institutional-based K programs such as K12s and the CTSA KL2.