[Skip to Content]
[Skip to Content Landing]
Medical News & Perspectives
October 10, 2001

New Diagnostic Criteria for MS Issued

Author Affiliations

Copyright 2001 American Medical Association. All Rights Reserved. Applicable FARS/DFARS Restrictions Apply to Government Use.2001American Medical Association

JAMA. 2001;286(14):1703. doi:10.1001/jama.286.14.1703-JMN1010-3-1

Washington—An overhaul of clinical criteria for diagnosing multiple sclerosis (MS), the first in 20 years, should increase the certainty of diagnosis while expediting treatment in some cases, according to an international panel that developed the standards.

Devised for practicing clinicians, the pragmatic criteria formally include magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) for the first time, and outline the role of tests such as cerebral spinal fluid (CSF) analysis. In addition, the system accomplishes another first by accounting for the sundry presentations of the four types of MS: relapsing remitting, secondary progressive, primary progressive, and progressive relapsing. A fifth element that the new criteria deal with is monosymptomatic demyelinating disease suggestive of MS.

First Page Preview View Large
First page PDF preview
First page PDF preview