[Skip to Content]
[Skip to Content Landing]
Medical News & Perspectives
June 9, 2010

DSM Panel Considers Ways to Clarify Diagnostic Criteria for Eating Disorders

JAMA. 2010;303(22):2235-2237. doi:10.1001/jama.2010.722

Members of a work group preparing the upcoming fifth edition of the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM-5) are hoping to clarify the assessment of eating disorders that, at this point, do not have distinct diagnostic criteria.

The fourth edition of the DSM (DSM-IV) cites criteria for only 2 eating disorders, anorexia nervosa and bulimia nervosa. Individuals with an eating disorder that does do not meet the criteria for anorexia or bulimia are classified as having an eating disorder not otherwise specified (EDNOS). But the EDNOS category encompasses a wide range of disorders, including binge eating disorder, purging disorder, and night eating syndrome. It also includes individuals with many of the characteristics of anorexia or bulimia, but not enough to achieve a diagnosis.

First Page Preview View Large
First page PDF preview
First page PDF preview