[Skip to Content]
[Skip to Content Landing]
Citations 0
Capitol Health Call
December 8, 2010

Physicians in Congress

JAMA. 2010;304(22):2471. doi:10.1001/jama.2010.1756

Following the results from the November 2 elections, 7 physician Congressional freshmen will be joining 12 physician-incumbents in the House and Senate when the 112th Congress convenes in January.

In the Senate, newcomer Rand Paul, MD (R, Ky), will be joining Sen John Barrasso, MD (R, Wyo), and Sen Tom Coburn, MD (R, Okla).

The physician freshmen in the House are Dan Benishek, MD (R, Mich), Larry Bucshon, MD (R, Ind), Scott DesJarlais, MD (R, Tenn), Andy Harris, MD (R, Md), Nan Hayworth, MD (R, NY), and Joe Heck, DO (R, Nev). Those physicians reelected to their House seats are Rep Paul Broun, MD (R, Ga), Rep Phil Gingrey, MD (R, Ga), Rep Tom Price, MD (R, Ga), Rep Charles Boustany, MD (R, La), Rep Bill Cassidy, MD (R, La), Rep John Fleming, MD (R, La), Rep David “Phil” Roe, MD (R, Tenn), Rep Michael Burgess, MD (R, Tex), Rep Ron Paul, MD (R, Tex), and Rep Jim McDermott, MD (D, Wash).