[Skip to Content]
[Skip to Content Landing]
Citations 0
Medical News & Perspectives
November 3, 2004

2004 Lasker Awards Honors Announced

JAMA. 2004;292(17):2065-2071. doi:10.1001/jama.292.17.2065

The recipients of this year’s Lasker Awards include a trio of scientists who have studied nuclear hormone receptors, an inventor of modern cataract surgery, and a molecular biologist who has made his name in both basic research and public policy.

Often called “America’s Nobels,” the Lasker Awards honor scientists, physicians, and others who have made major contributions in biomedicine. Joseph Goldstein, MD, of the University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center, recipient of both the Lasker Award for Basic Medical Research and the Nobel Prize in Medicine in 1985, and chairman of the international jury of researchers that selects recipients, said, “With open minds and creative thinking, scientists can break into unknown territory and revolutionize the direction of scientific inquiry. This year’s Lasker Awards honor three such achievements.