[Skip to Content]
[Skip to Content Landing]
Citations 0
Capitol Health Call
December 8, 2004

Physicians in Congress

JAMA. 2004;292(22):2714. doi:10.1001/jama.292.22.2714-a

The Senate now has two physicians on board as a result of the November 2 national elections. Tom Coburn, MD, the Republican candidate elected in Oklahoma, joins Majority Leader Bill Frist, MD (R, Tenn), who was not up for re-election. In Kentucky, a third physician seeking a seat in the Senate, Dan Mongiardo, MD, lost by a narrow margin to incumbent Republican Senator Jim Bunning.

In the House of Representatives, six incumbent physician members won re-election. Charles Bostany, MD (R, La), faces a runoff as one of the top two vote-getters in his Louisiana district. The six winners are Vic Snyder, MD (D, Ark); David Weldon, MD (R, Fla); Phil Gingrey, MD (R, Ga); Ron Paul, MD (R, Tex); Michael Burgess, MD (R, Tex); and Jim McDermott, MD (D, Wash). Another two physicians, Tom Price, MD (R, Ga), and Joe Schwarz, MD (R, Mich), took new seats in the House.