[Skip to Content]
Access to paid content on this site is currently suspended due to excessive activity being detected from your IP address Please contact the publisher to request reinstatement.
[Skip to Content Landing]
March 22, 1924


Author Affiliations

Associate Professor of Orthopedic Surgery, University of Minnesota Medical School MINNEAPOLIS

JAMA. 1924;82(12):960-962. doi:10.1001/jama.1924.02650380028010

Ankle fractures may be divided into four classes, characterized by (a) inversion (Fig. 1); (b) eversion (Fig. 2); (c) backward displacement of the astragalus on the tibia (Fig. 3), and (d) linear fractures, fractures without displacement and other unusual types.

While it is not my intention to describe at length these various types of fracture, I may say that the inversion type consists usually of a fracture of the internal malleolus and of the fibula, either at the styloid process or somewhat higher up, and that the astragalus is pushed toward the midline so that the foot appears in more or less inversion.

The eversion type, commonly known as Pott's fracture, consists of a tearing off of the ligaments attached to the internal malleolus, or of the malleolus itself and of the fibula from 1 to 3 inches above its lower end. It is characterized by eversion. This is the

First Page Preview View Large
First page PDF preview
First page PDF preview