[Skip to Content]
[Skip to Content Landing]
Views 9,562
Citations 0
September 15, 2015

The Lasker Awards at 70

Author Affiliations
  • 1Dr Pomeroy is President, Albert and Mary Lasker Foundation, New York, New York
JAMA. 2015;314(11):1117-1118. doi:10.1001/jama.2015.10116

Since 1945, the Lasker Awards program has recognized the contributions of scientists, physicians, and public servants to combating disease and improving human health. At its 70th birthday, the program celebrates 154 awards for basic medical research, 142 for clinical medical research, 14 for special achievement in medical sciences, and 63 for public service.1

The history of these awards highlights the creativity, persistence, and passion of brilliant scientific leaders. Often challenging dogma and always committed to innovative thought, the Lasker Award recipients represent an important reminder of the high calling of dedicating one’s life to science and discoveries that improve the human condition.