[Skip to Navigation]
January 3, 1931

The United States Department of Agriculture: Its Growth, Structure and Functions.

JAMA. 1931;96(1):64. doi:10.1001/jama.1931.02720270066037

This article is only available in the PDF format. Download the PDF to view the article, as well as its associated figures and tables.


This publication is intended to answer many questions regarding the Department of Agriculture. The department is one of ten major executive departments of the federal government supervised and controlled by the Secretary of Agriculture, assisted by an assistant secretary, by directors of scientific work, regulatory work, extension work, personnel and business administration, and of information, and by the department solicitor. The department units are the Bureaus of Agriculture, Economics, Animal Industry, Biological Survey, Chemistry and Soils, Dairy Industry, Entomology, Home Economics, Plant Industry, Public Roads, and Forest Service, the Grain Future Administration, Plant Quarantine and Control Administration, and the Weather Bureau. The department is a service institution for the entire nation with duties affecting all agricultural interests and many nonagricultural interests. Its activities are divided into six general classes: (1) research, (2) extension and information, (3) eradication and control of plant and animal diseases and pests, (4) service activities, such

First Page Preview View Large
First page PDF preview
First page PDF preview