[Skip to Content]
[Skip to Content Landing]
December 10, 1927


JAMA. 1927;89(24):2054-2055. doi:10.1001/jama.1927.02690240046024

This article is only available in the PDF format. Download the PDF to view the article, as well as its associated figures and tables.


The International Conference of Ophthalmology  Under the auspices of an Anglo-American committee, delegates from all the ophthalmologic societies assembled recently in Scheveningen. Twenty-six countries Were represented. The assembly decided to reestablish the international congresses of ophthalmology. The next congress will be held in Amsterdam, in September, 1929. Dr. E. T. Collins was elected honorary president of the forthcoming congress, and Professor Van der Hoeve (Netherlands) was chosen president. In addition, the assembly elected a permanent international committee of eight members, the province of which will be to maintain a connection between the succeeding congresses. The members chosen are: Axenfeld, Germany; Byers, Canada; H. Coppez, Belgium; Marquez, Spain; Meller, Austria; Morax, France; Ovio, Italy; de Schweinitz, United States. The next congress will deal with such general problems as unification of the methods of determining visual acuity and the field of vision, and of examining railway employees, seamen, chauffeurs and aviators.


First Page Preview View Large
First page PDF preview
First page PDF preview