[Skip to Content]
[Skip to Content Landing]
August 19, 1944

Current Comment

JAMA. 1944;125(16):1144-1145. doi:10.1001/jama.1944.02850340070014

NEW MEDICAL SCHOOLS  Within the past year three schools have been added to the list of approved medical schools maintained by the Council on Medical Education and Hospitals. The Southwestern Medical College of the Southwestern Medical Foundation is located at Dallas, Texas. Dr. Tinsley Harrison is dean of the faculties. The Bowman Gray School of Medicine has expanded from a school of the basic medical sciences to a four year medical school, located at Winston-Salem, N. C. Dr. C. C. Carpenter continues as dean. Under the deanship of Dr. A. Cyril Callister, the University of Utah School of Medicine, at Salt Lake City, has also developed a four year program. The University of Alabama has virtually completed arrangements for expansion to the four year status, employing the facilities of the Hillman and Jefferson hospitals in Birmingham. It is anticipated that junior instruction will commence about July 1945 under the direction

First Page Preview View Large
First page PDF preview
First page PDF preview