[Skip to Content]
[Skip to Content Landing]
Other Articles
May 27, 1939


JAMA. 1939;112(21):2155-2156. doi:10.1001/jama.1939.02800210049014

This article is only available in the PDF format. Download the PDF to view the article, as well as its associated figures and tables.


The second award of the Distinguished Service Medal and citation by the American Medical Association was tendered during the annual session at St. Louis to Dr. James Bryan Herrick of Chicago. The first award last year was made to Dr. Rudolph Matas of New Orleans. By the system of selection this award has already come to be recognized as one of the most important within the gift of the Association. After nominations are made through the Distinguished Service Award Committee, five names are sent by them to the Board of Trustees. The Trustees select three of the five, and the House of Delegates, at its first session, selects one of the three. This year the three names nominated to the House of Delegates were those of Dr. James Bryan Herrick, Dr. Chevalier Jackson of Philadelphia, and Dr. Edward Jackson of Denver. The report of the House of Delegates published in

First Page Preview View Large
First page PDF preview
First page PDF preview