[Skip to Content]
[Skip to Content Landing]
April 21, 1956


JAMA. 1956;160(16):1410. doi:10.1001/jama.1956.02960510036011

This article is only available in the PDF format. Download the PDF to view the article, as well as its associated figures and tables.


All members of the Association as well as state and county medical societies are urged to submit names for consideration for one of medicine's highest awards, the A. M. A.'s Distinguished Service Award. Nominations for the 1956 award, together with descriptive material and background information, must be received by the Secretary-General Manager's office no later than May 25. The House of Delegates will make the final selection from a list of three names submitted by the Board of Trustees. Formal presentation of the award, including a gold medal and citation, will be made during the Presidential Inaugural Ceremony June 12 in Chicago. Since 1938, 18 physicians have received this award. Last year's recipient was Dr. Donald C. Balfour of Rochester, Minn., who was thus honored for outstanding contributions in the field of general surgery.

First Page Preview View Large
First page PDF preview
First page PDF preview