[Skip to Content]
[Skip to Content Landing]
August 9, 1952


JAMA. 1952;149(15):1402. doi:10.1001/jama.1952.02930320042013

This article is only available in the PDF format. Download the PDF to view the article, as well as its associated figures and tables.


The General Practitioner Award was presented for the first time in January, 1948, at the Association's meeting in Cleveland. Since then it has been awarded annually at the midyear session. It has been the practice for the Board of Trustees to select three names from those submitted by the state societies and present them to the House of Delegates for its choice. At its meeting in Chicago in June, 1952, the House approved the following communication from the Board of Trustees:

It is believed that a much more dignified and fair approach would be to have the Chairman of the Board appoint an impartial committee, to remain anonymous until after the award is made, which would study the credentials and choose from the nominations submitted the general practitioner most qualified for the honor.

To meet the wishes of the House, biographical material submitted by various state medical societies for the

First Page Preview View Large
First page PDF preview
First page PDF preview