[Skip to Content]
[Skip to Content Landing]
July 6, 1957


JAMA. 1957;164(10):1135-1137. doi:10.1001/jama.1957.02980100091016

This article is only available in the PDF format. Download the PDF to view the article, as well as its associated figures and tables.



Honors Awarded.—  On May 17, 1957, the Legion of Merit was awarded to the following medical officers: Col. David Gold, M. C., chief of the consultants group, office of the surgeon general, Washington, D. C.; Col. Kenneth E. Pletcher, M. C., commander of the hospital, Carswell Air Force Base, Texas; Col. John A. Schindler, M. C., commander of the hospital at Homestead Air Force Base, Fla. The Commendation Ribbon was awarded to Col. Robert J. Benford, M. C., office of the Assistant Secretary of Defense (Health and Medical), Washington, D. C.


Promoted to Major General.—  The commanding general of Brooke Army Hospital, Fort Sam Houston, Texas, Stuart G. Smith, became a major general on May 10. In more than 30 years of service with the Army Medical Corps, General Smith has commanded hospitals in the United States and in Europe. For nearly 12 years, he was in

First Page Preview View Large
First page PDF preview
First page PDF preview