[Skip to Content]
[Skip to Content Landing]
January 4, 1958


JAMA. 1958;166(1):59-66. doi:10.1001/jama.1958.02990010061018


Memorial Student Aid Foundation.—  A Memorial Student Aid Foundation, to help deserving students obtain a medical education, has been organized in tribute to the late Dr. Jeff Banks, head of the gross anatomy department at the University of Arkansas School of Medicine, Little Rock. The sponsors of the foundation are the Medical Division of the University of Arkansas Alumni Association, the Arkansas Medical Society, and the School of Medicine. Dr. Banks personally gave financial aid to many students during his 23 years on the School of Medicine faculty. The foundation replaces a temporary committee which already had received nearly $7,000 in contributions to a Jeff Banks fund. Dr. James D. Mashburn, of Fayetteville, has been elected president of the Foundation, Dr. Willard H. Pruitt, of Camden, vice-president, and Dr. James W. Headstream, of Little Rock, secretary-treasurer.


Annual Radiological Conference.—  The 10th annual midwinter radiological conference, sponsored by the