[Skip to Navigation]
June 20, 1959


JAMA. 1959;170(8):979-984. doi:10.1001/jama.1959.03010080087022


Researchers Receive Awards.—  Dr. Henry S. Kaplan, head, department of radiology, Stanford Medical School, received the second annual Bertha Goldblatt Teplitz Memorial Award "for meritorious investigation in cancer research." The award, including a $500 honorarium, was made by the Ann Langer Cancer Research Foundation of Chicago. The Rubin Award of the American Society for the Study of Sterility was presented to Dr. Robert W. Noyes and his research associates, Dr. Thomas H. Clewe and Aileen Yamate. Dr. Noyes is an associate professor of obstetrics and gynecology. The latter research group was cited for work described in their published paper, "Ovarian Transplants to the Anterior Chamber of the Eye," which appeared last year in the journal Fertility and Sterility. The award carries a $250 honorarium.


State Medical Election.—  Dr. Joseph T. O'Neill, Ottawa pediatrician, was installed as president of the Illinois State Medical Society, succeeding Dr. Raleigh C. Oldfield,

First Page Preview View Large
First page PDF preview
First page PDF preview