[Skip to Content]
[Skip to Content Landing]
October 27, 1962

Drs. Li, Smadel Win $10,000 Lasker Research Awards

JAMA. 1962;182(4):27. doi:10.1001/jama.1962.03050430185042

This article is only available in the PDF format. Download the PDF to view the article, as well as its associated figures and tables.


Two scientists have won the 1962 Albert Lasker Medical Research Awards, the highest honor for medical research in the United States. The awards, which include a prize of $10,000 each, were announced October 17 by Mrs. Albert D. Lasker, president of the Albert and Mary Lasker Foundation.

The Basic Medical Research Award, honoring significant contributions to basic research in diseases that are a major cause of death or disability, was won by Dr. C. H. Li, Professor of Biochemistry and Experimental Endocrinology, and Director of the Hormone Research Laboratory at the University of California, Berkeley.

The Clinical Research Award, honoring significant contributions to clinical investigation, and the application of basic research findings to eliminate the major medical causes of death and disability, and which result in the prolongation of the prime of life, was won by Dr. Joseph E. Smadel, chief of the Laboratory of Virology and Rickettsiology, Division of

First Page Preview View Large
First page PDF preview
First page PDF preview