[Skip to Content]
[Skip to Content Landing]
November 25, 1968

Undergraduate Medical Education

JAMA. 1968;206(9):1993-2022. doi:10.1001/jama.1968.03150090069017

Approved Medical Schools  In the academic year 1967-1968 there were 94 medical schools with students in attendance. Of these, 89 offer the entire four-year program while five are classed as two-year schools. Of the 89 four-year schools, one, the University of New Mexico, graduated its first class in June 1968 and is now fully accredited, making a total of 85 fully accredited four-year schools. Four other four-year schools, Arizona, Hawaii, Michigan State, and Pennsylvania State at Hershey, have not yet graduated their first classes. Of the five two-year schools two, Rutgers and Brown, are new. The first Rutgers class completed the two-year curriculum in the spring of 1968. The students at Brown are participating in a highly integrated six-year program embracing the premedical years and the first two years of medical school. The first class entered this program in 1963 and will complete it in 1969.The Liaison Committee