[Skip to Content]
[Skip to Content Landing]
August 14, 1972

AMA's Physician's Recognition Awards: First Cycle, New Criteria, and Future

JAMA. 1972;221(7):709-710. doi:10.1001/jama.1972.03200200055016

This article is only available in the PDF format. Download the PDF to view the article, as well as its associated figures and tables.


The Physician's Recognition Award was established by the House of Delegates of the American Medical Association at the Clinical Session in Miami, December 1968. The resolution provided that 150 credit hours of continuing medical education over a 3-year period would be required for the award. Through the support and cooperation of the then American Academy of General Practice, it was possible to offer the award to all physicians for the first time in 1969. Since then, a total of 28,404 physicians have qualified for it. Since the award is valid for three years, physicians who have qualified for the 1969 award will be applying for the 1972 award, thus completing the first cycle. Information booklets and application forms for the 1972 Award are being mailed during July and August.

The experience of the first three years of the award program has enabled the Subcommittee on the Physician's Recognition Award to