[Skip to Content]
[Skip to Content Landing]
December 3, 1982

Seven honored for tracking disorders to genetic source

JAMA. 1982;248(21):2799-2801. doi:10.1001/jama.1982.03330210009004

This article is only available in the PDF format. Download the PDF to view the article, as well as its associated figures and tables.


The 1982 Albert Lasker Memorial Awards for Medical Research were presented to seven investigators at a recent luncheon in New York City. Five of the scientists shared the $15,000 award for basic research, and two the equal award for clinical research.

The basic research awards were presented to J. Michael Bishop, MD; Harold E. Varmus, MD; Hidesaburo Hanafusa, PhD; Raymond L. Erikson, PhD; and Robert C. Gallo, MD, for their "revolutionary discoveries" of the human genes known as oncogenes "which have provided a long-sought link between viruses and the development of cancer." The recipients of the clinical research award, Roscoe O. Brady, MD, and Elizabeth F. Neufeld, PhD, were cited for their "original and creative contributions to the understanding of two groups of inherited [enzymedeficiency] diseases—lipid storage diseases and mucopolysaccharide storage disorders."

The Oncogene Investigators  Bishop, 46, and Varmus, 43, both professors of microbiology, University of California School of Medicine,