[Skip to Content]
Access to paid content on this site is currently suspended due to excessive activity being detected from your IP address Please contact the publisher to request reinstatement.
[Skip to Content Landing]
September 27, 1985

Continuing Medical Education

Author Affiliations

Dr Osteen is from the American Medical Association Department of Physician Credentials and Qualifications, and Dr Gannon is from the AMA Department of Continuing Medical Education.

JAMA. 1985;254(12):1599-1601. doi:10.1001/jama.1985.03360120069006

This article is only available in the PDF format. Download the PDF to view the article, as well as its associated figures and tables.


Accreditation  When the Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education (ACCME) was established in January 1981, it recognized the intrastate accreditation programs of the medical societies of all 50 states, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, the Virgin Islands, and Guam. A Protocol was then developed in 1983 that set forth the following five criteria for ACCME continued recognition:

  1. The state society has a set of Essentials as the basis of the accreditation activities. These Essentials must be compatible with the Essentials of the ACCME but need not be identical. Each of the ACCME Essentials must be addressed.

  2. The state has a formal appeal process for any adverse accreditation decision. Appeals will not be referred to the ACCME, since the state society has the responsibility for intrastate accreditation.

  3. The state society has established and follows a set of policies regulating the accreditation process, including Essentials, procedure, and responsibilities.