[Skip to Content]
[Skip to Content Landing]
December 17, 1997

Miscellanea Medica

JAMA. 1997;278(23):2052. doi:10.1001/jama.1997.03550230028010

This article is only available in the PDF format. Download the PDF to view the article, as well as its associated figures and tables.


The Food and Drug Administration (FDA) has been named a winner of the Innovations in American Government Awards Program sponsored by the Ford Foundation and Harvard University's John F. Kennedy School of Government. The agency was recognized for its innovations of the US drug approval process.

Harvey J. Hoyt, MD, has been elected to the board of directors of Response Biomedical Corporation, Vancouver, BC.

F. William Sunderman, Sr, MD, PhD, ScD, founder and director of the Institute for Clinical Science, Philadelphia, Pa, and editor, Annals of Clinical and Laboratory Science, has received a special 50th anniversary award, "Honoring Our Past," from the College of American Pathologists. William W. McLendon, MD, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, editor of the Archives of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine, has been named CAP Pathologist of the Year.

Scott M. Grundy, MD, PhD, director and chair, Center for Human Nutrition and Department of Clinical