This article is only available in the PDF format. Download the PDF to view the article, as well as its associated figures and tables.
The Hôpital St. Louis was founded by Henry IV and opened for patients in 1602. It is therefore next to the oldest hospital in Paris, and for the past fifty years has treated about 8,000 patients annually. The museum has been famous for its extensive dermatology and syphilography collections, and now we have these treasures spread before the world, so that all may see color reproductions of this great museum, representing cases actually treated. The plates have an explanatory text by the staff of the St. Louis Hospital, and the names of Besnier and Fournier are alone sufficient to give tone and character to the work. The translation by Dr. Pringle and the typography are worthy of all praise.
Pictorial Atlas of Skin Diseases and Syphilitic Affections, in Photolithochromes from Models in the Museum of the St. Louis Hospital, Paris, with explanatory woodcuts and text. JAMA. 1896;XXVI(6):287. doi:10.1001/jama.1896.02430580039018
Coronavirus Resource Center
Customize your JAMA Network experience by selecting one or more topics from the list below.