[Skip to Content]
Sign In
Individual Sign In
Create an Account
Institutional Sign In
OpenAthens Shibboleth
[Skip to Content Landing]
Views 913
Citations 0
JAMA Cardiology Masthead
April 2016

JAMA Cardiology

Author Affiliations

Copyright 2016 American Medical Association. All Rights Reserved. Applicable FARS/DFARS Restrictions Apply to Government Use.

JAMA Cardiol. 2016;1(1):2. doi:10.1001/jamacardio.2015.0003

Mission Statement:JAMA Cardiology publishes exceptional original research, state-of-the-art reviews, and informative opinions that advance the science and practice of cardiology, enhance cardiovascular health, and inform health care policy. JAMA Cardiology is the definitive journal for clinical investigators, clinicians, and trainees in cardiovascular medicine worldwide. JAMA Cardiology focuses on all aspects of cardiovascular medicine, including epidemiology and prevention, diagnostic testing, interventional and pharmacologic therapeutics, translational research, health care policy and outcomes, and global health.

  • Editor Robert O. Bonow, MD, MS

Deputy Editors

  • Robert A. Harrington, MD,Stanford, California

  • Marc S. Sabatine, MD, MPH, Boston, Massachusetts

  • Clyde W. Yancy, MD, MSc, Chicago, Illinois

Deputy Editor for Statistics

  • Michael J. Pencina, PhD, Durham, North Carolina

Associate Editors

  • Adrian F. Hernandez, MD, MHS, Durham, North Carolina

  • Mark D. Huffman, MD, MPH, Chicago, Illinois

  • Ajay J. Kirtane, MD, SM, New York, New York

  • Christopher J. O’Donnell, MD, MPH, Boston, Massachusetts

  • Sanjiv J. Shah, MD, Chicago, Illinois

Editorial Office Manager

  • Daniel Lowden, Chicago, Illinois

Editorial Office

  • JAMA Cardiology, c/o Department of Medicine

  • 251 E. Huron St, Galter 3-150

  • Chicago, IL 60611

  • Phone: (312) 926-7252

  • jamacardio@jamanetwork.org

Section Editors
Associate Editor for Health Care Quality and Guidelines

  • Gregg C. Fonarow, MD, Los Angeles, California

Associate Editor for Translational Science

  • Elizabeth M. McNally, MD, PhD, Chicago, Illinois

Associate Editor for Digital Health

  • Mintu Turakhia, MD, MAS, Palo Alto, California

Assistant Editor for Statistics

  • Laine Elliott Thomas, PhD, Durham, North Carolina

Editorial Board

  • Eugene Braunwald, MD, Boston, Massachusetts

  • Judith S. Hochman, MD, New York, New York

  • Donald M. Lloyd-Jones, MD, ScM, Chicago, Illinois

  • Michael S. Parmacek, MD, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania

  • Daniel I. Simon, MD, Cleveland, Ohio

  • Sidney C. Smith Jr, MD, Chapel Hill, North Carolina

  • Douglas E. Vaughan, MD, Chicago, Illinois

  • Myron L. Weisfeldt, MD, Baltimore, Maryland

  • Douglas P. Zipes, MD, Indianapolis, Indiana

International Advisory Board

  • Paul W. Armstrong, MD, Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

  • Peter Liu, MD, Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

  • Renato D. Lopes MD, MHS, PhD, Durham, North Carolina

  • Attilio Maseri, MD, Firenze, Italy

  • Dorairaj Prabhakaran, MD, DM, MSc, Haryana, India

  • Hugh C. Watkins, MD, PhD, Oxford, England

  • Harvey D. White, MB, ChB, DSc, Auckland, New Zealand

  • Sir Magdi Habib Yacoub, OM, FRS, London, England

Publication Staff

  • Offices 330 N Wabash Ave, Chicago, IL 60611

  • Editor in Chief, The JAMA Network Howard Bauchner, MD

  • Executive Editor Phil B. Fontanarosa, MD, MBA

  • Executive Managing Editor Annette Flanagin

  • Managing Editor Brenda Gregoline

Editorial Processing

  • Manuscript Editing Manager Tracy Frey

  • Senior Manuscript Editors Miriam Y. Cintron, Shannon L. Sparenga

  • Manuscript Editors Kevin Brown, Paul Ruich, Suzanne Walker

  • Freelance Manuscript Editing Manager Diane L. Cannon

  • Freelance Manuscript Editing Coordinators Connie L. Manno, Fred Marshall

  • Freelance Copy Editors and Copyreaders Catherine A. Alden, Stephanie Lang Beckmeyer, Jan Clavey, Mary Coerver-Connolly, Paula Glitman, Laura King, Kenneth W. Lane, Brandy Y. Patton, Donna J. Thordsen

  • Editorial Assistant Wanda Hill

Editorial Operations and Systems

  • Directors Larry Bryant, Monica Mungle, Elaine Williams

  • Managers and Staff Kathryn Brokke, Fanny L. Brown, Lenette Gardner-Gullens, Erin Kato, Peter K. Kim, Rachell Lozano, Michaela Mark, Elizabeth Zak

Scientific Online Resources

  • Deputy Editor and Director Michael Berkwits, MD

  • Director, Development and Design Michelle Kurzynski

  • Staff Eric Butkus, Will English IV, Mustafa Ishaq, Daniel Morrow, Reuben Rios

Editorial Graphics

  • Deputy Editor and Director Ronna Henry, MD

  • Staff Joshua Bird, Karen Bucher, Samantha Welker, David Song

Clinical Review & Education

  • Deputy Editor Edward H. Livingston, MD

  • CME Editor Thomas B. Cole, MD, MPH


  • Director Marla A. Hall

  • Staff Deanna Willis, Yolanda Davis

  • Editorial Counsel Joseph P. Thornton, JD

Media Relations

  • Staff Preeti Malani, MD, MSJ, Deanna Bellandi, Jim Michalski

Periodical Publishing Staff

  • Senior Vice President and Publisher, Periodical Publications Thomas J. Easley

  • Vice President, Publishing Business Operations Brian Shields

  • Vice President, Publishing Production Operations Karen Adams-Taylor

  • Staff Monica Smith

Advertising Print & Online Sales & Marketing

  • Director Jeffery J. Bonistalli

  • Manager Kathy Russell

  • Staff Mirna Monal

  • Sales Representative Stacey McHugh

  • Director, Marketing Mark Thornbury

  • Staff Tricia Castellano

Classified Advertising

  • Manager Thalia Moss

  • Staff Mike Harvey, Susan J. Henning

Reprint Communications

  • Manager Susan Lovenberg

Circulation Print & Online Sales & Marketing

  • Director, Worldwide Sales Vida Damijonaitis

  • Managers Saskia Bolore, Gretchen Linder, Brian McCartney

  • Staff David Baum, Christine Hearne, Rebecca Lisek, Natasha Nekola, Ron Thomas

Marketing and Product Development

  • Directors Paul Gee, Matt Herron, Elizabeth Solaro

  • Associate Publisher/Senior Product Development Geoffrey Flick

  • Managers Rick Bell, Fergus Clare, Lindsay Dawson, Ellen Gibson, Craig McCaffrey, Michael McGraw, Romando Rossini, Stacy Tucker

  • Staff Millette Jackson-Bates

Business Operations

  • Directors Karl Elvin, Nancy Essex, Jaye Mize, Sean O’Donnell, Sue Sherrill

  • Managers David Antos, Chris Borden, Debbie Camp, Lydia Cruz, Scott Curl, Diane Darnell, Colleen Kelly, Chris Meyer, Annemarie Neff, J.D. Neff, Sean Ohlson, Phil O'Leary, Bill Pedone, Susan Price, Binita Shah, Denise Steinhauser, Joe Wixted

  • Advertising and Production Services Kim Boler, Rhonda Bailey Brown, Daniel DeGroot, Jordynn Farrar, Shawn Hansen, Euwanaha Joiner-Smith, Tiffany Jones, Joshua Lane, Cindy Rendlen, Ellen Yoshihara

  • Circulation Services Julie Burton, Dexter Golden, Erin Hinchcliff, Noemi Rivera, Geneine Van Someren

  • Composition and New Media Gail Barrett, Regina Brownlee, Amanda Camino, Brenda Chandler-Grayer, Emily Dunn, Amy Evers, Teri Hutchison, Mary Ann Kuranda, Joshua Lampinen, Nathan Mitre, Patricia E. Panek, La'son Diggs Sledge, George T. Thomson

  • Graphics Joe Amft, Maria Duda, Fred Furtner, Carolyn Hall, Maria Kowalkowski

  • Proofreading Carol Joy Farrell, Daniel James, Judith A. Literskis, Teresa H. Omiotek, Michael Ryder

AMA Executives

  • Executive Vice President, Chief Executive Officer James L. Madara, MD

  • Chief Operating Officer Bernard L. Hengesbaugh

The JAMA Network is a consortium of peer-reviewed print and online medical publications that includes JAMA®, JAMA Cardiology, and other specialty journals. JAMA Cardiology does not hold itself responsible for statements made by any contributor. All articles published, including opinion articles, represent the views of the authors and do not reflect the policy of the Journal, the American Medical Association, or the institution with which the author is affiliated, unless otherwise indicated.

©2016 American Medical Association. All rights reserved. Reproduction without permission is prohibited.