[Skip to Navigation]
Citations 0
Special Article
November 2006

Dermatologists Honored on Stamps

Author Affiliations

Author Affiliations: Emeritus Member, Section of Scientific Publications (Dr Shampo), and Department of Dermatology (Dr Davis), Mayo Clinic, Rochester, Minn.

Arch Dermatol. 2006;142(11):1489-1492. doi:10.1001/archderm.142.11.1489

Eight dermatologists have been honored with their pictures on stamps: Ferdinand Ritter von Hebra, Jean Alfred Fournier, Moritz Kaposi, Armauer Hansen, Niels Finsen, Hulûsi Behçet, Franz Hemerijckx, and Ruzar Briffa. Of these, Finsen also received the Nobel Prize—one of the highest honors for a physician or scientist. He was awarded the 1903 Nobel Prize for Physiology or Medicine “in recognition for his contributions to the treatment of diseases—especially lupus vulgaris—with concentrated light radiation, whereby he opened up a new avenue for medical science.”1(p322) Finsen was the first to appreciate that UV light had a curative effect on skin diseases, and he also discovered that the suppuration in smallpox can be prevented by screening the patient from UV rays. One of the dermatologists, Briffa, was honored not as a dermatologist but as a well-known poet and national literary figure of Malta.

Add or change institution