This article is only available in the PDF format. Download the PDF to view the article, as well as its associated figures and tables.
The Kalihi Leprosy Hospital is owned, equipped and conducted by the Territorial Board of Health. It is located three miles from town and comprises five or six acres. The buildings include several dormitories, an infirmary, dispensaries, examination rooms, kitchen, dining rooms, assembly hall and steam laundry, all equipped with hot and cold water and electric lights and a school for children. There are in addition recreation grounds, tennis and volley ball courts, billiard rooms, vegetable gardens, piggery, poultry runs, etc. Adjoining the hospital grounds are the laboratories, library and other buildings of the United States Public Health Service Leprosy Investigation Station, directed by Dr. J. T. McDonald, who is also ex-officio attending physician to the hospital.
On July 10, 1920, there were 117 patients, the majority of whom were Hawaiians—sixty-four females and fifty three males; the oldest patient was 62 years, the youngest 7 years, and the average age was
WAYSON JT. NOTES FROM KALAHI LEPROSY HOSPITAL. Arch Derm Syphilol. 1921;3(1):45–46. doi:10.1001/archderm.1921.02350130048007
Customize your JAMA Network experience by selecting one or more topics from the list below.
Create a personal account or sign in to: