[Skip to Navigation]
April 1923


Author Affiliations

Dermatologist, Municipal Hospital HAVANA, CUBA

Arch Derm Syphilol. 1923;7(4):465-471. doi:10.1001/archderm.1923.02360100038005

Macular atrophy of the skin may be divided in two groups: (1) idiopathic macular atrophy, (2) secondary macular atrophy.

The first group is formed by a limited number of clinical entities of unknown etiology. The second group is more numerous and includes atrophic macular lesions following a dermatosis and those with a well defined cause.

In the first group are placed anetodermia erythematodes maculosa of Jadassohn, multiple benign tumor-like new-growths of Schweninger and Buzzi, idiopathic atrophic macules and the lesions that have been united under the name of white spot disease.

In the second group are included the macular atrophic lesions following lichen planus, leprosy, tuberculosis, syphilis, the cases reported by Pellizzari under the name of atrophic erythema, the case of Balzer and Reblaub of dissociated polymorphous erythema, the case of Pospelow consecutive to purpura, the atrophic urticarial erythema following urticaria and several other conditions which are sequelae of lupus

Add or change institution