Mal de Meleda receives its name from the Dalmatian island where it was originally observed.1 In 1826 Stulli2 first described this condition, in a letter to the director of anthology in Florence, Italy. Seventy years later, Hovorka reported the disease under the title "Concerning an Heretofore Unknown Endemic `Lepraherd' in Dalmatia." Later he realized it was not leprosy and with Ehlers3 used the term mal de Meleda. In 1898 Neumann4 undertook a study of this disease and emphasized its close relationship to the keratosis of Unna5 and Thost6 and to the still earlier reports of Haskel, Behrend, Sommering and Boegehold.
Since Neumann made his report, mal de Meleda has not been studied on the island of Meleda. There have been numerous articles on this subject in the French and German literature, but none have appeared in the American literature within the last five years.
NILES HD, KLUMPP MM. MAL DE MELEDA: REVIEW OF THE LITERATURE AND REPORT OF FOUR CASES. Arch Derm Syphilol. 1939;39(3):409–421. doi:10.1001/archderm.1939.01480210024002
Customize your JAMA Network experience by selecting one or more topics from the list below.
Create a personal account or sign in to: