[Skip to Content]
Access to paid content on this site is currently suspended due to excessive activity being detected from your IP address Please contact the publisher to request reinstatement.
[Skip to Content Landing]
November 1961

Five Cases of Lichen Amyloidosis

Author Affiliations


From the Department of Dermatology, Faculty of Medicine, University of Tokyo (Ex-Director, Prof. Kanehiko Kitamura; Director, Prof. Taro Kawamura).

Arch Dermatol. 1961;84(5):759-761. doi:10.1001/archderm.1961.01580170053007

Amyloidosis of the skin is classified into the following 4 main groups: (1) primary systemic amyloidosis, systematized amyloidosis1; (2) secondary systemic amyloidosis, generalized amyloidosis; (3) primary localized amyloidosis, lichen amyloidosis, or amyloidosis localis cutis nodularis et disseminata,2-4 and (4) secondary localized amyloidosis ("seniles Amyloid," Freudenthal5).

In primary systemic amyloidosis, the parenchyma of the organs is largely spared; blood vessels, connective tissues, and muscles are the main site of involvement. This type of amyloidosis is often accompanied with multiple myeloma, Bence Jones proteinuria, and plasmocytoma.

Secondary systemic amyloidosis occurs in chronic diseases such as tuberculosis, leprosy, malaria, syphilis, osteomyelitis, and so on. Amyloid deposits are found in the parenchymatous organs, especially in the liver, kidney, spleen, and adrenals. In secondary localized amyloidosis, amyloid deposits are found in senile and pigmented verrucae, keratomas, epitheliomas, and cylindromas.

Primary localized amyloidosis has also been called lichen amyloidosis. It is a very