[Skip to Navigation]
July 1965

Genetic Classification of Ichthyosis

Author Affiliations


From the Population Genetics Research Unit of the Medical Research Council.

Arch Dermatol. 1965;92(1):1-6. doi:10.1001/archderm.1965.01600130007001

Ichthyosis has been classified on a genetic basis. Four varieties—ichthyosiform erythroderma, lamellar ichthyosis, Refsum's syndrome and the Sjögren-Larsson syndrome—are inherited as autosomal recessive traits. One type is inherited as a sex-linked recessive trait while another variety of ichthyosis (with or without atopy), bullous ichthyosiform erythroderma, and very rarely ichthyosis hystrix are due to autosomal dominant genes.

Add or change institution